The museum was officially opened by the President of Ireland, Mary Robinson, on October 13, 1991.
Museum acquisitions include a magnificent collection of Belleek Parian China; a tapestry by Lily Yeats, sister of W.B. Yeats; a historic chair commissioned by the Irish Fellowship Club of Chicago on the occasion of the visit of U.S. President William Howard Taft on St. Patrick’s Day, 1910; a square grand piano dating from the late nineteenth century; an exquisite collection of Irish Lace; the first organ from St. Patrick’s Church in St. Charles, Illinois; and a series of historic maps showing the Irish contribution to European culture from the sixth to the twelfth centuries.
Due to our extensive collection, a docent must accompany all visitors and tour groups through the museum. It is also open during selected programming, special events and art exhibits. Call the Center office to arrange for a museum tour.